i can’t beleive…

how I am feeling these days. I think the correct term would be “giddy”. You see I think I have met someone…no that is not correct. I know I have met someone. Someone that I am very interested in. Gosh I feel like I’m back in high school thinking about that boy I like. But it runs deeper these days as I am no longer in high school. I am, instead, a woman of a certain age that has not dated for a minimum of 11 years. In reality it is much more than that. You see the last person I went out with I did so for 10 years. So really it would be more like 21 years since I have had an actual date. Oh my…I wish I had not put those numbers down as it really does look sad.

There are reasons that I have not dated in that time period. The first and probably the most important is that I just plain have not met anyone worth my time. Pretty simple really.

But I met this man about 6 or 8 weeks ago. We go on hikes and walks together with a group. We always end up walking together at least part of the way and finally we went out last weekend.

But honestly I am so afraid that I am going to say or do the wrong thing and make a fool of myself. So far it hasn’t happened but yes I am afraid of it. I’m afraid he is going to get tired of me after a short period of time and walk away. I don’t want that to happen.

He asked the other night while we were at dinner what I wanted from “us”. Goodness I really didn’t know how to respond to that. I definitely want an “us” and I want that us to last for a very long time.

We talked about a lot of things and we both agreed that we really didn’t have to speak with each other every single day. We are, after all, adults. But he didn’t call yesterday and I really, really wanted him to.

I have never been good at the beginning stages of a relationship, that I can remember that is. Perhaps in those 21 years that I have not dated I have matured a bit and will not totally blow things. One can only hope!

Wish me well my friends!

1 Comment

Filed under my own thoughts

One response to “i can’t beleive…

  1. The Smile Scavenger

    🙂 Best of luck to you! This is awesome news!

Leave a Reply

