feeling great…

I’m really feeling good today. Both physically and emotionally and it really feels great! Yesterday I did a 6 mile hike. It was rated in several write-ups as being “moderate”. They lied! It was strenuous and all 13 of us on the hike agreed that it was. But wow was it beautiful and I am so very glad I did it. Right along the north coast of California where we passed through some lovely lush green redwood groves that would open up to beautiful open areas. The hike was pretty much up hill to begin with but then of course downhill on the way out. Not sure which is worse going up or going down. Either way I made it and am really proud of it.

The group I went hiking with is a group I met through meet-up (check them out – they have some really great groups). It is a group of people over a certain age that get out twice a week and sometimes on a weekend to do a walk or hike. Not only have I been getting much more exercise than I have before but have met some really wonderful people.

That is the other thing I have found with my life in the past couple of years. Many of my friends have moved, passed away or just sort of dropped out of doing things. So I have found myself with only a few friends and becoming a real homebody. Oh that is so easy to get into – believe me. But that wasn’t the life I saw for myself. So really made the effort to get out there and meet some new people. This group is really great! Many, if not most, of us are single but that really isn’t the intent of the group. But through this group I have met some people – generally women – that I would never have had the opportunity to meet otherwise. I really feel blessed being able to meet some of the people and feel that some will end up as life long friends.

What a great life!

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise

2 responses to “feeling great…

  1. The Smile Scavenger

    Aw, I just love reading posts like this! 🙂 So happy for you. I hope you continue to have a wonderful week!!! The pictures are gorgeous. I can’t wait to spend some time outdoors.

  2. Thank you! Even though unemployed (more on that later) life has made a turn lately and it really is wonderful…again! Yes…get yourself outside and smell the roses!

Leave a Reply

